Dear ASC-ers,

Help us recognise Australia’s best scientists and innovators, by nominating them for one of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science.

The prizes highlight achievements in science research. And this year, the contribution of science to our economy will be explicitly recognised with a new prize, The Prime Minister’s Prize for the Commercial Application of Science.

There are prizes for:

·         Heroes of Australian science who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of knowledge through science.

·         Exceptional innovators from science and industry who have translated scientific knowledge into substantial commercial impact.

·         Early to mid-career scientists whose research is already making, and will continue to have, an impact on our lives.

The awards will be presented by the Prime Minister and the Minister for Industry and Science, at a gala dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra.

The prizes are:

·         $250 000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

·         $250 000 Prime Minister’s Prize for the Commercial Application of Science (new prize)

·         $50 000 Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year

·         $50 000 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Prize recipients will receive national recognition, and meet leaders in science, industry, education and government.

Nominations are now open and close at 5.00pm (Canberra time) on Thursday 26 March 2015.


It’s simple to nominate in the first (shortlisting) stage, with an online form which requires: 

·         Details of the nominator, nominee(s), two supporters and three external referees (two of whom must be based overseas)

·         an achievement summary of no more than 1000 words

·         a two page curriculum vitae that includes reference to at least four publications or patents that relate most directly to the nominated achievement

·         proof of Australian citizenship or permanent residency

·         for the Frank Fenner and Malcolm McIntosh prizes: evidence that their research career spans no more than 10 years (or full time equivalent) from completion of their highest degree.

If a nomination is shortlisted, further material will be required in the final stage.

For eligibility, selection criteria, nomination guidelines and more examples of past winners, visit:


Last year’s prize recipients

Unmasking the role of genetics: Ingrid Scheffer and Sam Berkovic.Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Sam Berkovic and Ingrid Scheffer have changed the way the world thinks about epilepsy. Their discoveries of the links between epilepsy and genes have opened the way to better targeted research, diagnosis, management and treatment for many forms of epilepsy.

Laureate Professor Sam Berkovic AC and Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO are associated with the University of Melbourne, the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, and Austin Health.


_Y4A7961Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year

Professor Ryan Lister has mapped how our genes are turned on and off, revealing why a leaf cell is different to a root cell or a stem cell differs from a skin cell. Professor Lister’s work at the University of Western Australia has the potential to transform agriculture, regenerative medicine and our understanding of the workings of the brain.


_Y4A7589Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Dr Matthew Hill from CSIRO has created crystals that are set to transform industry. His metal–organic frameworks—the world’s most porous materials—can be used as efficient and long-lasting filters to clean up natural gas, water, pollution and can safely store hydrogen, carbon dioxide and other gases.


You can read more about recipients in previous years at:

If you have any questions regarding the prizes, please email:




Niall Byrne


Creative Director

Science in Public    

82 Hudsons Road, Spotswood VIC 3015 

PO Box 2076 Spotswood VIC 3015

03 9398 1416, 0417 131 977

Twitter scienceinpublic

Full contact details at